December 14, 2019

Om De Oude Wereldzee with Tony Overwater Ensemble & NEuE


Modern Jazz Ensemble:
Mila Veldkamp – vocals
Dong-gi Kim – tenor sax
Danilo Mormandi – guitar
Jonas Paenen – piano
Jackson Sang Geun Lee – double bass
Marco Luparia – drums
pieces by Wolfert Brederobe

Tony Overwater Ensemble with New European Ensemble string quartet – Om De Oude Wereldzee
Nizar Rohana – Ud
Rada Avcharova – violin
Mihkel Kerem – violin
Emlyn Stam – viola
Willem Stam – cello
Maarten Ornstein – clarinet
Rembrandt Frerichs – forte piano and harmonium
Tony Overwater – double bass and violone
Ruven Ruppik – percussion

‘Om de Oude Wereldzee’ that was made for the Movie with the same title. When former prime minister and theologian Abraham Kuyper returned from his trip around the Mediterranean in early twentieth century, he described his impressions in the travelogue ‘Om de Oude Wereldzee’ ‘Om de Oude Wereldzee’. A documentary film was made by IKON about this trip, in which the music serves to enliven the travelogue. For the transcultural experience that had to be based on ‘Om de Oude Wereldzee’ Overwater collected musicians and a set of instruments that absorbs influences from the entire Mediterranean and yet leaves a uniform impression.

click here for tickets




Name Culture Unlimited Category Den Haag




De Nieuwe Regentes, Weimarstraat 63, 2562 GR Den Haag